When new PCs and devices connect to the home network for the first time, they all enter in an untrusted state. If you have McAfee Internet Security or McAfee AntiVirus Plus, you will only be able to mark PCs as trusted. If you have Total Protection, you will be notified when untrusted PCs enter your network, and you can mark each device as trusted or as an intruder.
|File and printer sharing functions are handled outside of My Home Network. To learn more, read File and Printer Sharing.|
|•||Trust a PC on the home network|
If a new PC with McAfee protection installed connects to the home network, you can invite it to become a trusted member of the network. You can do the same with protected PCs that are already on the network in an untrusted state.
|•||Accept a trust invitation|
When establishing a new home network, you might receive a trust invitation from a user on another PC, or from you own account on another PC. If you recognize and trust both the PC and the user, it is safe to accept the invitation. Once a PC is trusted, you can view its security status, subscription details, and when it was last updated. You can also manage the trusted PC's protection status, and fix its security issues remotely.
|•||Reject a trust invitation|
If you receive a trust invitation from a user on another PC and you do not recognize and trust both the PC and the user, reject the invitation.
If you mark a PC as trusted by mistake, or if you change your mind, you can remove trust from it. When you do, you can no longer view that PC's security status, manage its protection status, or fix its security issues remotely.
|•||Mark as intruder|
Mark a PC or device on your network as an intruder if you don't recognize it, or if you believe it is a potential threat. Marking a PC or device as an intruder means it is automatically blocked from accessing your PC by Personal Firewall. My Home Network notifies you when it reconnects to your network.
|•||Unmark as intruder|
If you mark a network PC or device as an intruder by mistake, you can remove the designation of intruder. Make sure that you recognize the device as safe before you change its designation. Unmarking a PC or device as an intruder means that it regains access to features, like sending files or sharing printers.