When you connect a PC to the network, McAfee what the router attributes are, and whether the the PC is connected to the Internet. McAfee also determines if any PCs or devices are already on the network. If McAfee does not find any existing members on the network, it assumes that the PC you're connecting is the first PC on the network.
|•||Access the network map|
Open the network map to see a graphical representation of the PCs and devices that make up your home network. From the network map, you can manage protection for each PC or device on your network, and fix any reported security vulnerabilities.
|•||Refresh the network map|
When you make changes to your network (for example, by adding a PC), you should be able to see those changes immediately on the network map. You can manage protection for the new PC or device as soon as it is added, and fix any reported security vulnerabilities. You can also prompt McAfee to check for changes to the network by refreshing the network map, if you do not see a change you're expecting.
|•||Hide offline PCs and devices in the network map|
If a PC or device is offline, you can hide it on the network map. Hiding offline PCs and devices allows you to see only the active PCs and devices on your network that you can manage in real time. Hidden PCs and devices reappear on the network map automatically when they try to reconnect.
|•||View PC or device details|
You can view detailed information about any PC or device on your home network. You can use the information to identify PCs and devices connected to your network, and decide whether to include them on your network. You can also use the information to determine a PC's security status, and diagnose protection problems.
|•||Edit a PC name|
You can view detailed information about any trusted PC on your network, and rename PCs that have that are not trusted.
|•||Rename a device or change its type|
You can view devices on your network for detailed information, and you can edit that information to specify the device's name and type.
|•||Stop trusting the home network|
If you want to leave your home network for any reason, for example if you join a home network by mistake, you can use the network map to do this. Leaving a network ensures that none of the users connected to that network can view information on or establish a connection with your PC.